Ursula von der Leyen

Ursula von der Leyen

European Commission President


Ursula von der Leyen, 61, is a German politician, a member of the CDU (Christian Democratic Union) and President of the European Commission since 1 December 2019.

Having been Minister for various portfolios in all the governments chaired by Angela Merkel, on 2 July 2019 she was appointed by the European Council as President of the European Commission.

The European Parliament followed up its appointment on 16 July by 383 votes in favour, 327 against, 22 abstentions and a blank ballot.